Skip to content

Making a Change

October 26, 2007

This morning, faced with the last book in the Kincaid/James series, Water Like a Stone, I found I wasn’t ready for it. I’m not sure whether it’s simply a surfeit of the series, or if it’s that I’m putting off coming to the end. Or maybe it’s just that the books in the series have kept me up too late and I need my sleep.

Instead, I grabbed Steven Pinker’s How the Mind Works. I’m interested in neurophysiology, and Pinker is a lively and demanding writer. But I don’t think I’m in the mood for it. Maybe I’m just too tired to take a crash course in logic, neural networks and theories on how the mind works. Or maybe I’m just not in the mood.

That’s completely possible–I’m a moody reader, sifting through my to-be-read pile (or mountain, as the case may be) like a finicky eater faced with things she might like.

So I don’t know what I’m reading next.

Sigh.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

