Skip to content

Reading…and not writing about it

January 3, 2008

You would think, going by the entries in this blog (or rather, the lack of entries), that I haven’t been reading. But of course I’ve been reading–I’m pretty sure reading is as necessary to me as food. (Okay, that’s an exaggeration…but it also conveys some truth.)

So…what have I been reading?

Well, I’ve been glomming Elizabeth Thornton’s romances. They’re Regency-era romantic suspense–the heroine’s threatened by someone unknown, and the hero somehow helps her. I think part of the reason I like them so much is that they’re half-mysteries: there are clues and suspects and red herrings; I love a puzzle. So far, I’ve read Shady Lady, The Husband Trap, The Bachelor Trap and The Pleasure Trap; coming up, I have Princess CharmingThe Perfect Princess, and Almost A Princess.  (There’s nothing better than having good things on one’s to-be-read pile.)

I’ve also read Jeanine Basinger’s The Star Machine, which is an examination of the Hollywood star system from 1930 to 1960, using stars such as Lana Turner, Tyrone Power, Jean Arthur and Errol Flynn as a prism (rather than people like Joan Crawford, Bette Davis, Humphrey Bogart, etc.). The New York Times wasn’t wild about it, but I thought it was fascinating.

Right now I’m reading the most recent Home Repair is Homicide mystery–I just started it, but so far, so good. But that’s what I expected–that’s why I buy her books as soon as they come out.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

