Skip to content

Silly

January 25, 2008

I’m so loony on the writing front that all I want to read is very, very light stuff. I don’t want non-fiction, I don’t want grit, I don’t want darkness. I want entertainment that doesn’t make me roll my eyes.

Amanda Quick is perfect for this.

There is a kind of silliness that’s very hard to pull off, because the tone has to be pitch-perfect. It’s not stupidity, either; it’s a special kind of cleverness, in fact. The first Pirates of the Caribbean movie is an excellent example of the kind of silliness I’m talking about. There isn’t a lick of seriousness in a frame of that movie; it’s wildly and joyously over the top. And it’s enormous fun.

Amanda Quick writes romances that remind me of Pirates, in their utterly joyous silliness. They’re fun to read, perfect escapism. And many of the later ones play with “horrid” novels of the 19th century — there’s a “Perils of Pauline” quality to them that I adore. They’re silly in the very best sense of the word.

Mind you, I’m not always in the mood for Amanda Quick…but when I am, there’s nothing more satisfying.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

