Skip to content

March 13, 2008: What’s On the Nightstand, Katy?

March 13, 2008

I do almost all of my reading in bed before I go to sleep. Conventional wisdom is that you’re not supposed to read before you go to bed–you’ll stimulate yourself too much and won’t be able to fall asleep once you turn the light out. The thing is, I’ve been reading in bed before I go to sleep since I was in elementary school, so this is a serious bedtime habit I’ve got going here, and I think it helps me disconnect from the day world.

And, you know, even if it doesn’t, I’m not going to stop reading before sleep any time soon.

So what’s on the nightstand today? Stephanie Barron‘s A Flaw In The Blood. Unlike her mysteries featuring Jane Austen, this book is set in the days immediately following the death of Prince Albert, Queen Victoria’s husband. I’m a little over halfway through and there are a number of narrative strands; I have faith that they will all come together. I did look at the ending, and it seems bittersweet; I’m not entirely sure I’m ready for that. At the same time, I’m perishing of curiosity to find out how it all turns out, so…

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

