Skip to content

Book Log: April 18

April 18, 2008

Over the course of his life, my dad didn’t pay me a lot of compliments, but he once said I have “the most catholic reading tastes” of anyone he knew. (He also made a point of noting it was little ‘c’ catholic, as opposed to Catholic as in the Catholic Church.)

I thought about that today when I was at the check-out desk at the library, piling up the books that had caught my magpie eye. Looking at the titles in the pile, they didn’t seem to have any kind of theme or connection as a whole. The closest are three that relate, one way or another, the two world wars of the last century.

Here’s what I checked out:

  • Aces Falling: War Above the Trenches, 1918 by Peter Hart. (Non-fiction)
  • Lush Life by Richard Price. (Fiction)
  • Agent Zigzag: A True Story of Nazi Espionage, Love, and Betrayal by Ben McIntyre (Non-fiction)
  • All For Love: The Scandalous Life and Times of Royal Mistress Mary Robinson by Amanda Elyot (Historical fiction)
  • Heart in the Right Place, A Memoir by Carolyn Jourdan (Non-fiction)
  • A Romanov Fantasy: Life at the Court of Anna Anderson by Frances Welsh (Non-fiction)
  • A Little Ray of Sunshine by Lani Diane Rich (Fiction)
  • Symphony: A Novel by Jude Morgan (Historical fiction)

I wonder if that list accurately reflects the ratio of fiction to non-fiction in my reading. It’s hard for me to tell because A) I tend to go on binges — a whole lot of non-fiction, followed by a bunch of fiction; and B) much of the fiction I read is shorter than the non-fiction. My sense is that I read more non-fiction, but that might just be that I notice the non-fiction more. Some of the books I read when I’m reading fiction are short and light enough that I’ll read them in a night, and not all of them are so wonderful I remember them afterward. So I might forget them when I think about what I’ve been reading, and that could skew things.

I’m not likely to forget what I’ve read this week: Meljean Brooks’ Demon Moon. After I published last week’s post (which is time-stamped with the wrong time — I need to figure out how to fix that), I drove to the nearest Borders that had it. . . which was 15 miles away. I can be a bit obsessive when I want something; sometimes instant gratification isn’t quick enough. Like Demon Angel, it’s dense and that means I’m reading it slowly: after five days, I’m only on page 308.

And after that? Who knows? I’ve got lots to choose from.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

