Skip to content

Now up, Non-fiction: September 26, 2008

September 26, 2008

Okay, I imagine that, going by the title of this post, it’s clear that this is my crazy season, when I get a little baseball-obsessive and have Red Sox on the brain. When the ride ends, I’ll hide in a cave and moan for a little while, and I’ll be reading in between moans, because that’s how I deal with things I can’t deal with: I read to run away from them.

Mind, that’s only one of the umpteen reasons I read. It sometimes feels as if reading is as much a part of the fabric of my life as breathing (and that’s only a little bit of an exaggeration.

I’m now reading For the Thrill of It : Leopold, Loeb, and the Murder That Shocked Chicago by Simon Baatz. I got it because the review in the New York Times made it sound interesting, and it’s a library book, so if I end up disagreeing with the Times’ reviewer (and it’s still possible I will), I’ve spent time, not time and money. (I was going to say “only time” but my time isn’t without value, certainly worth more than “only”.)

So far, the book is a little on the dry side and it’s laying out a lot of information. If all that information is being laid out as groundwork, if it’s setting up the latter part of the book in such a way that you had to have had all this beginning material, then all is well. On the other hand, if this is all there just to be there, well, not so good.

I guess I’m waiting for my interest to catch fire, and it hasn’t happened yet. Right now, my curiosity about whether or not it will catch fire is pulling me forward, but if the spark isn’t struck soon, my curiosity will move on to other things, I’ll lose interest in the book, and I’ll bring it back, unfinished.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

