Skip to content

Contrarian: October 7, 2008

October 7, 2008

I have a week to read The Lace Reader before it has to go back to the library, so what did I start reading? The Devil You Know by Mike Carey, a book I own and could read at any time. It’s the pressure of the time limit, that’s what it is: you tell me I have to do something (even if “you” is really me), and I will balk. I’m in constant contact with my inner four-year-old, the one who puts her fists against her sides, scowls, and yells, “You’re not the boss of me!”

That’s the downside to the library: the need to read things in a given time frame. So in theory I’ll take a risk on something new, because I’ll check it out, but I won’t, really, because I never read it.

So far, The Devil You Know is very good. It’s got lively prose, a narrator with an attitude, a well-built world, and enough isn’t explained that I’m wondering what’s going on. I really like the narrator, Felix Castor, so I’ll follow him wherever he goes, and I’m intrigued by the story. Felix is an exorcist, someone who removes ghosts from places; the story is about a case he goes on (and in which he gets involved with a succubus, and there’s his friend who’s possessed by a demon, and there’s his landlady who’s going to lose her house…you get the drift.)

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

