Skip to content

Templeton and Worlds: October 17, 2008

October 17, 2008

I’m almost at the end of The Monsters of Templeton, and today I realized one of the reasons I like it so much: Lauren Groff has created a complete world, and I like spending time in it.

Hard on the heels of that realization came another one: I really like books that contain whole worlds. That’s one of the things I love about Mike Carey’s work, about Sarah Graves’s, about Margaret Maron’s. I especially love books that let me glimpse worlds unlike my own, which is certainly true of the worlds in Carey’s, Graves’s and Maron’s books.

One of these days I have to write down all the things I think I’m looking for in my reading. World-building will definitely be on the list.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

