Skip to content

Double-teaming: October 20, 2008

October 20, 2008

As it turned out last night, I kind of knew how the game was going to turn out by the middle of the 6th inning. There is a quality of magic the team that’s going to win has as the 7th game goes on, as if nothing they do can possibly go wrong. They become invincible. The Red Sox had it in 2004 and 2007; the Rays had it last night.

So I crept into bed with Longfellow and read until the beloved came to tell me it was all over.

This morning, I didn’t feel like bringing Longfellow to work with me, so I took Fingerpainting on the Moon: Writing and Creativity as a Path to Freedom by Peter Levitt with me instead, and read it on the bus ride home. I’ll go back to Longfellow when I creep back to bed, and leave Fingerpainting for the bus.

I don’t think I’m the only person who reads more than one book at a time; I’m pretty sure I’ve heard other people say they do it. I don’t do it all the time, though, and I’m not entirely sure what prompts me to do it when I do. I’m interested in both books and want to read them both — I just don’t want to read Longfellow on the bus, nor Fingerpainting in bed.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

