Skip to content

Still Not Sure: October 22, 2008

October 22, 2008

Last night when I went to bed, I poked around my piles of books, trying to figure out what I wanted to read next. I ended up pulling out Joseph Campbell’s Transformations of Myth Through Time. The book is based on a series shown on PBS, exploring the common elements of myths from around the world, across time. I’m feeling the need to understand mythology in more depth for the story I’m currently working on, and for a story simmering on the back burner. I can’t separate my writing self from my reading self, and this is a case when the two are most closely intertwined.

The thing is, I’m not entirely sure this is what I want. Which is one symptom of the reading itchies: starting things and just not feeling the love, despite being able to recognize that this book is one you should love. The Campbell is the kind of book I normally devour, still wiggling…but I’m feeling kind of meh.

This is because I’m in the middle of a creative burst — the book has colonized most of my head and is taking all the energy it can get hold of. Which means less energy for reading.

Ah, well, that’ll pass, and I’ll be a reading fool again.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

